02/07/11

Jerk 24kg x 2 – 2 min sets @ 8 rpm x 3 sets (1 min break between sets) – 48 reps total

I was very sick yesterday and was feeling very weak today, so I kept my workout short.  My rack felt pretty bad for the first set and a half, then was great after that.  Bump had plenty of strength in it.  I just felt very weak and got worn out super fast.

Snatch 24kg – 24L/24R switching hands every 12 reps

No chalk.  The the handle was very slippery.  Towards the end of the set I started to feel something new with my grip on the upswing.  Just as I’m driving with my legs, if I have the handle at 45 degrees, I can focus the weight onto my finger lock.  The upswing when I did this was much easier than without, and I barely felt any weight on my grip.

3 Responses to “02/07/11”

  1. Hi Wushuguy, I am x6 months into learning kettlebells and nearly 45 years old. Like you I abasolutely love the sport, but every session is about learning what to do and what not to do. I don’t have a strong grip and I can’t seem to find the fingerlock everyone talks about. Maybe it will come in time. Other than that we are not too far apart in weight and lifting. I recently started x2 arm jerk and have 20’s up to 6 min @ 8rpm, snatching 20 and 24’s. I have started one arm work, half snatch and L/C with 28KG. I live in London and there are no clubs here so I joined one in new york. I met VF and Denisov there in Novermber for a workshop, My coach is Mike Stefano. Good to meet you. Adam

    • Nice to meet you Adam. Where you are at now is really good for only being 6 months in. Plus, you definitely won’t go wrong with Mike as your coach. As far as the finger lock goes, it is indeed very hard to find. I have felt it, but by no means feel it every time. One of the more important parts of it is to really chalk your bells. When done right (as far as I know), the weight and momentum of the bell will automatically tighten the finger lock grip. This will allow you to relax the forearm muscles, and still have a tight grip. It is not something that is easy to do. Good luck with your lifting, and hopefully we can meet somewhere down the line at one of the tournaments. If you ever have any questions on anything, feel free to ask, and I’d be happy to help out as much as I am able.

Leave a comment