02/08/12

School is kicking my ass again.  I’ve been putting in very long days, and usually come home feeling like shit.  Today was no exception.  I did have something to cheer me up when I got home though… a brand new 34kg VF Performance kettlebell!  I warmed up with some 5L/5R one arm jerk sets from 20kg through 32kg, hitting every bell inbetween.  After about a 3 min break I gave the 34kg a try.

Jerk 34kg – 25L/26R

Oh my, thing is incredible!  I wasn’t too sure how much of a gimmick the Performance Kettlebells were.  I was sure they’d be a bit more comfortable, but I wasn’t expecting much.  Man was I wrong.  After that first clean, I was in heaven.  Not only is it miles and miles more comfortable than the Pro Grades, but it sits in the rack position much better as well.  It is really hard to explain, but it just feels smooth.  Like butter.  I absolutely love this bell!  Every bell I buy from now on will definitely be a Performance bell.  These things are sweet.  As far as my technique this set goes, I started getting pretty sloppy towards the end of my left arm.  When I got tired I started to laterally rotate my arm too much in the lockout.  I never noticed that I do that to that extent.  Now that I’m aware of it, it shouldn’t be too hard to fix.  Right arm is much better than the left.

After this set, I did a few 5L/5R OAJ sets alternating between the 32kg Pro Grade and the 34kg Performance to better feel the difference between the two.  The Performance bell is just a joy to use.  So much better.  I really want to pick up a couple of Performance 28’s now.

Leave a comment